UBUNTU 14.04 LTS | POST INSTALL – part II

trusty

Now, after installing my software of choice, I’m gonna make my experience as smooth and optimal for me.

THIS IS A WiP. So it will be updated according to my need, laziness and findings.

IF YOU HAVE any suggestions to this humble guide, I will be forever thankfull. So please let me know (:

1. Install Unity Tweak Tool

This will allow you to theme and customize a lot your Ubuntu installation.

$ sudo apt-get install unity-tweak-tool

OPTIONAL: Another great tool for customizing is Unsettings. Install it by

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:diesch/testing
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install unsettings

2. Remove that overlay scrollbar

I simply don’t like that overlay bar. It sucks for me. Here’s how to completely remove it, without borking Tweak Tool.

overlay

3. Configure menubars
Just do as you please.

I turned this

appearance_1

into this

appera

4. Install Numix Theme and Icons

I really like the Numix theming. I really think it’s clean and sharp and well designed. And I do like how it makes ubuntu experience a whole lot better. So let’s get to it.

Let’s add the numix ppa, since it’s the easiest way to have it

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:numix/ppa

Now, let’s update the sources and install that lovely theme vodoo

sudo apt-get update

First the icon sets

sudo apt-get install numix-icon-theme \
numix-icon-theme-circle numix-icon-theme-bevel

then the GTK theme

sudo apt-get install numix-gtk-theme

This will install al the available numix wallpapers

sudo apt-get install numix-wallpaper*

5. Edit your dock

This will facilitate a lot your usability. Choose wisely when cleaning your stuff and organizing it. I usually organize it in groups

a) web: browser(s)
b) IM stuff: irc client and pidgin
c) p2p stuff: amule and or torrent client
d) music player: default rithmbox  is fine for me, but clementine is also on my favs
e) handy stuff: terminal and file manager

6. Remove unwanted ubuntu stuff (optional)
I don’t like/use the e-mail application thunderbird, hell, I dont even use Ubuntu’s Software manager. So let’s remove it.

6.1 remove thunderbird

sudo apt-get remove thunderbird*

6.2 remove software center

because terminal  ❤

sudo apt-get remove software-center \
&& sudo apt-get --purge remove software-center*

6.3 remove update notifications

sudo apt-get remove update-notifier

6.4 remove that stinky amazon thingy

sudo apt-get remove unity-webapps-common* \
&& sudo apt-get --purge remove unity-webapps-common*

At the end of it perform auto-remove and auto-clean

sudo apt-get autoremove && sudo apt-get autoclean

ONCE AGAIN: IF YOU HAVE any suggestions to this humble guide, I will be forever thankful. So please let me know!!! (:

See you around, sailors!

UBUNTU 14.04 LTS | POST INSTALL – part II

Leave a Reply

