My take on Fedora

fedoralogo
Hello sailors!

For a very long time now, I’ve been keen to try Fedora. I’ve heard about fedora ever since I’ve got into this linux using thing, as opposed to be happy window$ or macO$ user.

First contact
Thing was was a very dear friend of mine was using Ubuntu at the time, when Ubuntu was fairly new and it was easy to setup on my very first laptop, in spite some ATI driver issues I had. Plus we were rocking a cool Ubuntu distro afterwards, namely 10.04 which is to this day, the best or one of the very best linux experiences I’ve had.

Later on, came Ubuntu’s big daddy Debian. And since the language was the same, I opted to stay that way and use debian or debian-based distros. I also enjoyed debian for the sake of stability it gives to the more n00b or conservative users, and de more daring options like testing or sid branches of it, and also for it’s community and open source and trying to be a real universal OS, commitment. I felt right at home.

Then it was time for the inner curious/tinkerer step-up and dive into the foundations of linux itself and see and to try and grasp the complete diversity there is between distros and their importance in the FOSS world and linux diffusion.

Enter Fedora
So I started to look deep into the foundations of Linux itself by a great documentary one can easily find on YouTube, about the story of Linux the differences and uses of. From the freedom it provides to the business opportunities. Later on I came across with the information that Fedora (or Red Hat) is one of the main contributors to the Linux Kernel, and that for the sake of practicality, Linus Torvalds himself, did in fact use Fedora. So the bells started to ring.
With all this, and watching Lou’s videos on “Switching to Fedora”, and the current state of Gnome development, I decided to go with fedora for a while.

The monthly challenge
I will do my best, and force myself to try and understand the mechanics of Fedora. Also in reply to Graham over G+, I’m convinced it’s the only way to try something new and you’re keen about, is to leave the comfort zone.

I’m getting more and more excited to test this. I will stay with this system (currently rocking F22) for at least one month to see if I can achieve a wight path to linux enlightenment.

I’m convinced that if I can stick with F for at least a month I will stick with it in a longer run. This, may vary if I get a lot of bugs. But the experience has been almost flawless. Let’s keep it that way (:

That’s all for now, sailors.

My take on Fedora

4 thoughts on “My take on Fedora

  1. liam says:

    Unless you’re days are spent creating packages you shouldn’t really notice much difference.
    Fedora has become much better when it comes to stability. It’s even more stable if you don’t enable updates-testing:)

    1. I actually have no freaking idea of what I’ve enabled. lulz. but I guess i’m fully stock except for the RPM fusion repos.
      but yeah, so far, rocking solid enough.
      thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

